Confused about returning a value (example in the book)

I'm new to Rust, and I'm going through the book, I'm at chapter 3.5 - returning values from the loops, where it says:

Then we declare a variable named result to hold the value returned from the loop.

Here's a bit of code that confuses me:
break counter * 2;

That's because in previous chapter

it says:

Note the x + 1 line without a semicolon at the end, which is unlike most of the lines you’ve seen so far. Expressions do not include ending semicolons. If you add a semicolon to the end of an expression, you turn it into a statement, which will then not return a value. Keep this in mind as you explore function return values and expressions next.

So my question is:
Why is that break counter * 2; returns a value? It works and compiles with or without a semicolon, by the way.

It returns a value because you say it to do so. In the same way return a; works as well.
It's just nice to leave return out at the end of a function. So
fn a() -> String {return "hey".to_string();}
is the same as
fn a() -> String {"hey".to_string()}. So basically the compiler searches for return statements or expressions (without semicolon) for the return value

So why does this example from 3.3 Functions:

let y = {
        let x = 3;
        x + 1
    };

returns a value, but this:

let y = {
        let x = 3;
        x + 1;
    };

Returns an empty tuple?

No, the return in your two code snippets will exit the current function/closure

This is because the last expression in the block, x + 1 is the value that the block evaluates to. In the second there is no value to be returned (kind of like void in languages like Java or C++), an no value is spelled () or unit in Rust. This is because you specifically asked for that behavior by putting the semicolon.

In Rust semicolons are semantically significant, not just some bit of syntax.

ahh yeah you're right

Yes I know, that's why I'm confused.