Confused about moves, borrowing etc. Concrete example

Hi all, I'm new to Rust and I'm working my way through the documentation. My background is in high-level OOP languages like Java, C#, VB, so there is a bit of a paradigm shift here for me. It's mostly straightforward, but no matter how many times I think I understand borrowing, it turns out I'm wrong.

I have the following piece of code, which the compiler hates. Specifically it tells me in the summarize_author() implementation under news article "cannot move out of 'self.author' which is behind a shared reference".

This doesn't completely make sense to me, so I was hoping someone could explain it. If I return self.author.clone() it works, but I'm not sure I'm clear on why. Is the default behaviour to transfer ownership of a String if you return it from a method? If so, what's the correct way to do this? Create a copy with .clone(), or is there a more Rusty approach?

pub trait Summary {

fn summarize_author(&self) -> String;

fn summarize(&self) -> String {

format!("Read more from {}...", self.summarize_author())

}

}

pub struct NewsArticle {

pub headline: String,

pub location: String,

pub author: String,

pub content: String,

}

impl Summary for NewsArticle {

fn summarize_author(&self) -> String {

self.author

}

fn summarize(&self) -> String {

format!("{}, by {} ({})", self.headline, self.summarize_author(), self.location)

}

}

Yes, the default behavior for most types is that they must be cloned explicitly if you need to have an independent copy. The exception is so called Copy types that can be copied implicitly because that is cheap and doesn't have any side effects. Examples of Copy types are primivite integers (e.g. u32) and shared references (e.g. &str).