Company has asked me to do a knowledge sharing session about Rust

Hi,

The software consulting company I work for organizes biweekly "knowledge sessions" about technologies/techniques/frameworks/etc for whomever is interested about that particular topic. The general idea is that a single ~3 hour session is held where first the basics and underlying concepts are explained after which a practical part begins where attendees get some hands-on experience with the topic at hand.

Because apparently I never shut-up about Rust, the company has asked me to do a knowledge session about Rust, something which greatly excites me but at the same time I'm worried a bit about what to include and leave out from the session. Also what kind of practical assignment is doable for total newbies while at the same time shows off Rust's strengths?

So yeah, anyone got any experience with this or has ideas about how to best go about this kind of thing?

1 Like

What kind of programming experience will the newbies have?

Yes. What is the audience for this session?

I can imagine tailoring things very differently for a house full of Javascript/Pythonistas vs those experienced in C/C++. For example.

Pitching the idea to management is another story again.

I suspect that rather than never shutting up about Rust, which might tend to annoy people, it would work wonders to create something in Rust that is useful for the company and demonstrates its advantages. Even just a little thing, a Rust skunkworks project.

It would be hard to teach rust from scratch in 3 hours :stuck_out_tongue:

If I was doing this, I'd probably try to prepare some examples where the rust compiler prevents a mistake leading to a runtime error.

Probably something like a function returning result that isn't "handled" (unwrapped or matched). Or a match statement with a missing arm. You think of less obvious examples.