Code review wanted, looking for improvements

Hello,
I'm a Rust beginner and recently made an Elixir package using Rustler which makes it easy to use Rust as a NIF within Elixir/Erlang.

Although I managed to make everything work with not much effort (I love Rust so far!) the code seems very verbose to me. There is a lot of ok().unwrap() repetition and feels like there is a lot of room for improvement.

If anyone is willing to have a look and help out — everything is all here and the core logic is just about ~100LOC:

I'll appreciate all tips and ideas to improve. Thanks!

Generic advise:

1. Always prefer foo.unwrap() to foo.ok().unwrap() (where foo: Result<_, _>).
    The former directly unwraps the result and panics with error info if it is Err(_).
    However, the latter discards the error info, so it will be hard to debug.
  2. Always prefer foo.expect("Some meaningful error message or context info here") to foo.unwrap().
    Result::expect() (and Option::expect()) is similar to Result::unwrap(), but expect() additionally prints the given message.
    foo.unwrap() does not tell why it can be unwrapped, but foo.expect() does.
    For example, I use expect() as below:
    • s.parse::<i32>().expect("Should never fail: s is already validated as i32 integer")
    • object.meta.expect("Caller must set the object metadata")

Conclusion: Replace foo.ok().unwrap() to foo.expect("message").

2 Likes

To create (pseudo) methods to some types, you can use extension trait technique.

Using this technique, you can write .map_put_expect(foo, bar, "msg") or something, instead of .map_put(foo, bar).expect("msg").

I'm not sure whether it is better to create .map_put_expect() function, but this is an example.
If you want to put similar codes into common function but also want to use method chains (i.e. want to use v.foo().bar() rather than bar(foo(v))), implementing extension traits would be useful.

1 Like