Code review for simple iterator implementation

I'm writing a corpus struct for working on text files. Below is the very first part of implementing an iterator to loop over all the sentences of a corpus. (I notice there's a split_terminator in std, but I'd like to keep the terminator in split string.

I'm very new to Rust and have some questions.

1. Should I use a name like sentences() instead of split_terminator()?
  2. Should I add a new() function for Sentences?
  3. And I'm not clear if I should pass lines() or reader or even path to create Sentences in this case. The Sentences struct should be only created by split_terminator, but I'm not sure if there's some conventions or design to do this?
  4. What's the idiomatic way to handle errors when creating an iterator? The -> io::Result<Sentences> seems a bit weird. I didn't find much examples of this since functions that create iterators generally return some iterable directly like Lines, Chars, Split or SplitWhitespace without an option.
  5. Any suggestion further to write idiomatic code?

Thanks!

use std::collections::VecDeque;
use std::fs::File;
use std::io;
use std::io::{BufRead, BufReader};
use std::path::PathBuf;

pub struct Corpus {
    pub path: PathBuf,
}

pub struct Sentences {
    lines: std::io::Lines<BufReader<File>>,
    sentences: VecDeque<String>,
    pat: char,
}

impl Iterator for Sentences {
    type Item = String;

fn next(&mut self) -> Option<Self::Item> {
        if self.sentences.is_empty() {
            match self.lines.next() {
                Some(Ok(line)) => {
                    self.sentences = line
                        .split_inclusive(self.pat)
                        .map(str::to_owned)
                        .collect::<VecDeque<_>>();
                    self.next()
                }
                None => None,
                _ => self.next(),
            }
        } else {
            Some(self.sentences.pop_front().unwrap())
        }
    }
}

impl Corpus {