Code review for Rust newbie

Hi!

I am very new to Rust and coming from Python it's my first strongly typed language.
Would be great if I could get some feedback on my code, which computes the digit periodicity of inverse integers (as seen here).

// Compute sorted vector of divisors for given integer n.
fn divisors(n: usize) -> Vec<usize> {
    if n == 0 {return vec![]};
    let mut divs = vec![1, n];
    // check all integers smaller than sqrt(n) + 1
    for i in 2..(1 + (n as f64).sqrt() as usize) {
        if n % i == 0 {
            divs.push(i);
            divs.push(n / i)
        }
    }
    divs.sort();
    divs.dedup(); // remove consecutive duplicates
    divs
}

// find digit periodicity of inverse of n in given base.
// e.g. n=3  -> 1/5  =0.2              -> periodicity=0
//      n=3  -> 1/3  =0.33333333333... -> periodicity=1
//      n=37 -> 1/37 =0.02702702702... -> periodicity=3
fn period(n: usize, base: usize) -> usize {
    if n==0 {return 0}; // otherwise divisors(n-1) won't work
    for div in divisors(n-1).iter() {
        if (usize::pow(base, *div as u32) % n) == 1 {
            return *div;
        }
    }
    0 // no periodicity otherwise
}

fn main() {
    let number = 19;
    let divs = divisors(number);
    let period = period(number, 10);
    println!("Computed divisors of {}: {:?}", number, divs);
    println!("Digit periodicity of 1/{}: {:?}", number, period);
}

Unfortunately, because it has to compute pow(b, div) % n (where b is the base and div the divisor of n-1), it will overflow pretty fast.

1. What types should I use to allow results for up to n=10^5? Is there a less expensive way to compute the modulo of a large power?
  2. Why does usize::pow() expect a u32 as the second argument and not usize?
  3. Do you notice any abhorrent violations of decent coding style? :slightly_smiling_face:

I am thankful for any feedback!

Cheers,
struppi

1 Like