Code review for my first libc wrapper?

Hi, I've been working on wrapping libc::getifaddrs and I've gotten pretty far. However this is my first time writing unsafe Rust: please take a look at it and tell me how badly I've screwed up?

https://github.com/LeoTindall/getaddrs-rs

The primary entrypoint function is get_if_addrs which returns a Vec of Interface, which has a name and a Vec of InterfaceProto which contains addresses and flags.

Make this code compiling first, then silence compilers warnings (unused variables), then get rid of transmute.

I would wrap libc::ifaddrs some RAII type which would call libc::freeifaddrs(_) when it go out of scope. The wrapper would provide iteration via interface like this: fn iter<'a>(&'a self) -> impl Iterator<Item = &'a libc::ifaddrs>. This would let me rewrite all this nasty while loop into nice for.

Lines 123..129: reinvented wheel, you could let mut index = interfaces.position(|iface| name == iface.name). Also lines 123..139 and 170 is no Rusty at all... Why is this vector instead of HashMap<String, Vec<InterfaceProtocol>>? Using HashMap would definetly be more convinient here and simplify code much. If you thing in "cache effitiency" terms, stop - here you have heap allocations both in String and Vec, so this vector isn't cache friendly at all.

Lines 156..160: check match statement, would me much more elegant.

In general: this code looks more like C in Rust syntax, than real Rust code. Try to think more functional, and check interfaces you are using (in particular when you are trying to do something in iterator, check if Iterator trait hasn't helper for it).

pub fn sockaddr_to_ipaddr (sockaddr_input: Option<&libc::sockaddr>)

The Option in arguments doesn't seem to have semantic purpose.

That might be subjective, but I'd return Option only for cases where the result is valid, and the correct result means there is nothing to return. For error cases, such as unsupported type, I'd return Result.