Cloned can't be used on tuples?

Hi, I'm new to Rust and still try to how ownership and lifetime work.

I have a simple function that filters a ML model output, a vector of probabilities, with a threshold and returns the values and their indices in the output vector.

fn filterOutput(output: Vec<f32>, threshold: f32) -> Vec<(f32, usize)>{
        let size = output.len();
        let indices: Vec<usize> = (0..size).collect();
        let outputWithIndices: Vec<(&f32, &usize)> = output.iter().zip(indices.iter()).filter(|(&p,&n)| p > threshold).collect();
        let r: Vec<(f32, usize)> = outputWithIndices.cloned().collect();
        r
    }

outputWithIndices.cloned(). doesn't work.
Are there more efficient ways to return the filtered result without unnecessary copies of data?

Note that (&f32, &usize) is larger than (f32, usize), so you're not really saving any work here. (It might be the same size, actually, due to padding)

ok. I was simply trying to zip the two vectors together since I didn't find another way.
Intuitively, there should be a method to zip them together whiling cloning from both.

output.iter().copied().zip(0..output.len()).collect()
    }
1 Like
        let size = output.len();
        let indices: Vec<usize> = (0..size).collect();
-       let outputWithIndices: Vec<(&f32, &usize)> = output.iter().zip(indices.iter()).filter(|(&p,&n)| p > threshold).collect();
-       let r: Vec<(f32, usize)> = outputWithIndices.cloned().collect();
+       let r: Vec<(f32, usize)>                   = output.iter().zip(indices.iter()).filter(|(&p,&n)| p > threshold).cloned().collect();
        r
    }

EDIT: @Hyeonu beat me to it :upside_down_face:

Thanks!
I got the final solution

output.iter().copied().zip(0..output.len()).filter(|(p,n)| p > &threshold).collect()

|(&p,&n)| p > threshold doesn't compile. I can understand threshold is used many times in the filter and it should be &threshold.