Clarifying how std::io::stdin() works

I'm a newbie working through the book and other resources as I learn to use the Rust language. This question is all about clarification of how Rust works.

I've been attempting to understand how using a crate or module relates to how I write my code and am confused. For example, I created a function to handle inputting integers so that I don't have to reinvent the wheel every time I need to ask the user for a value. I include the line

use std::io::stdin;

at the top of my code and call my function in the body of fn main(). In the body of my input function, the key line is:

std::io::stdin().read_line(&mut input).expect("Failed to read line.");

My question is why the repetition? My assumption going into this has been that when I include the use std::io::stdin; line at the beginning of my program, I should be able to access all the features contained in that library. By my way of thinking I should be able to eliminate the std::io::stdin() part of the line above because I already included it in the use statement at the beginning of my code. I experimented with keeping only the stdin(), but nothing works except what you see here. I'm hoping that someone can help me see how all this fits together so that I can get a better handle on how Rust works.

In the meantime, I'll keep working through my learning resources.

Thanks.

std::io::stdin isn't a library, it's a function. use lets you refer to it by the shorter name stdin instead of having to specify the full path std::io::stdin. Meaning you can change the line in question to stdin().read_line.... If that doesn't work, the use and line might be in different modules. You need the use in the module where you want to call stdin().

You can't drop the stdin() call no matter what you use, because you need to call it in order to call read_line on its return value.

2 Likes