Choosing the 'best' representation for unsigned integers at compile time

I am a library author, sosecrets-rs is my crate.

I am writing a type pub struct RTSecret<T, const MEC: usize>(T, UnsafeCell<usize>); such that if self.1 > MEC, then the secret won't be exposed (either panic or return Err), else, it will be self.1 += 1 (see caveat below) and the exposed secret will be returned.

As a library author, I do not know what my user will choose for MEC, e.g. they might write something like let secret = RTSecret::<i32, 69>::new(70);, since MEC = const 69 in this case, I 'know' self.1 will never be larger than the literal 69 and I can optimize RTSecret by having its 1 field to be UnsafeCell<u8> instead of UnsafeCell<usize>.

Caveat:
Of course self.1 += 1 won't work since it is UnsafeCell<usize>, this is just to explain the context of my question.

I tried to accomplish this but no to avail. I wonder if it is even possible before const generics operations is stabilized.

fn main() {
    use std::cell::UnsafeCell;

const fn bits_needed<const N: usize>() -> usize {
        let mut n = N;
        let mut count = 0;

while n > 0 {
            n >>= 1;
            count += 1;
        }

count
    }

const fn closest_unsigned_integer_type<const N: usize>() -> u8 {
        let bits = bits_needed::<N>();

if bits <= 8 {
        } else if bits <= 16 {
        } else if bits <= 32 {
        } else {
        }
    }

trait WhichRepresentation<const N: u8> {
        type Representation;
    }

impl WhichRepresentation<8> for () {
        type Representation = u8;
    }

impl WhichRepresentation<16> for () {
        type Representation = u16;
    }

impl WhichRepresentation<32> for () {
        type Representation = u32;
    }

impl WhichRepresentation<64> for () {
        type Representation = u64;
    }

trait ChooseRepresentation {
        type Representation;
    }

struct Choose<const N: usize> {}

impl<const N: usize> Choose<N> {
        const N: usize = N;
    }