Cargo equivalent of rustc --extern

Hi Friends,
I am new to Rust (like 2 days old). With cargo, I created a test library( cargo new utils --lib). I am able to build it and have got the outupt utils.rlib by running 'cargo build' at the utils directory. I want to create a test binary (say caller.exe) that uses this library. So, I copied the utils.rlib file to a directory lib (as a sibling to the caller's src directory.
I am able to build the caller.exe with the rustc at the 'caller' directory as given below,

rustc src\main.rs --extern utils=lib\libutils.rlib -o caller.exe

Instead of using rustc explicitly, I want to use 'cargo build' to generate caller.exe. Would you please tell me what to put in the cargo.toml file? (specifically, I want to use the already generted utils.rlib file, instead of building it from its source code again.)

I searched the rust documentation, but failed to find the solution.

Thanks,
Gopan

I don't think you want to be copying the rlib around. If I understand what you're trying to do, you want to have a library and a binary application that uses the library, both written in Rust? If so, you probably want a Cargo workspace.

You can create a workspace by:

1. Creating a directory to house the workspace
  2. Creating a Cargo.toml file in the root of the folder that has something like this in it:
[workspace]
members = ["my-library", "my-binary"]
  1. Then you can run cargo new --lib my-library and cargo new my-binary to create your binary and your library
  2. And then you can depend on your library by adding this to your binary's Cargo.toml:
[dependencies]
my_library = { path = "../my-library" }

You almost never need to call rustc directly, and if you do you will probably need to supply many options. cargo provides convenient commands to manage your project; I recommend you read some of the Cargo book if you have not already.