Cargo embed cant find supported probe

I was trying to follow a tutorial in order to start working on a mcu in rust as I'm fairly new to rust but I already see the potential in an fixed memory environment.

I have a Adafruit ItsyBity M0 Express that I am trying to use as my development board.

.cargo/config.toml

[build]
target = "thumbv6m-none-eabi"

[target.thumbv6m-none-eabi]
rustflags = ["-C","link-arg=-Tlink.x"]

Embed.toml

[default.general]
chip="ATSAMD21G18AU"

main.rs

#![no_std]
#![no_main]

use core::panic::PanicInfo;
use cortex_m_rt::entry;

#[entry]
fn main() -> ! {
    loop {

}
}

#[panic_handler]
fn panic(_i: &PanicInfo) -> ! {
    // ...
    loop {}
}

memory.x

MEMORY
{
  FLASH : ORIGIN = 0x00000000, LENGTH = 256K
  RAM : ORIGIN = 0x20000000, LENGTH = 32K
}

The program builds just fine but every time I try and do cargo embed I get the following error.

PS C:<local file path>\git\mcu> cargo embed
    Finished dev [unoptimized + debuginfo] target(s) in 0.02s
      Config default
      Target C:<local file path>\git\mcu\target\thumbv6m-none-eabi\debug\mcu
       Error No supported probe was found

The board is plugged in and just running a blinky program so that I know its powered on and working. Even when double pressing the reset button (which causes it to attach itself as a mass storage unit in windows) I get the same error when using cargo embed.

What am I doing wrong? I'm still very new at rust but I really want to use it for this use case.

hello and welcome to embedded rust. it would be really helpful if you already have experience in embedded development in traditional languages, namely C (or even C++), but it's not a hard requirement, you just need basic knowledges about how the to interact with bare metal hardware.