Cannot move out of captured outer variable in an `FnMut` closure

Hello all, new to rust and encountering the error cannot move out of captured outer variable in an FnMut closure with the following program

I know that it's img that causes this and I've tried using, inside the map, let img = &mut img; however that gives a different error of cannot infer an appropriate lifetime for borrow expression due to conflicting requirements

I was hoping someone could help me solve this as I'm new to rust and can't quite figure it out.

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

As img needs to be mutably shared among threads, it needs to be protected by mutex. But we cannot share a mutex among threads, so the mutex needs to be ARCed, the same way you're handling rx.

let cpus = num_cpus::get();
    let (tx, rx) = channel();
    let rx = Arc::new(Mutex::new(rx));
    let img_buffer: image::GrayImage = image::ImageBuffer::new(WIDTH, HEIGHT); //
    let img_arc = Arc::new(Mutex::new(img_buffer));  // 
    let thread_handles = (0..cpus)
        .map(|_| {
            let rx = rx.clone();
            let img_arc_clone = img_arc.clone();

thread::spawn(move || loop {
                let val = rx.lock().unwrap().recv();
                let mut img = img_arc_clone.lock().unwrap(); //
                match val {
                    Err(_) => break,
                    Ok(x) => {
                        for y in 0..HEIGHT {
                            img.put_pixel(x, y, image::Luma([generate_pixel(x, y) as u8]));
                        }
                    },
                };
            })

})
        .collect::<Vec<_>>();

for x in 0..WIDTH {
        let _ = tx.send(x);
    }
    drop(tx);

for h in thread_handles {
        let _ = h.join();
    }