Cannot borrow `x` as mutable because it is also borrowed as immutable

So, I have an error in my code and I have a hard time understanding mutability and borrowing. I'm kinda new to Rust, so excuse my ignorance.

I would like to tokenize the given text with given charset. Actually, I have created a Playground example so that you can test it live.

It seems buffer is borrowed immutable in for loop. That's oddly counter-intuitive for me since I have already defined it mut above the for loop. Why does it borrow the mutable variable as immutable?

Also, the compiler complains about borrow, not move. I thought curly braces create new scope, thus move occurs without &buffer. What does it complain about borrow while I do not pass a reference to buffer with ampersand (aka &buffer)?

Thanks in advance.

Hello!

I'm also new to Rust ( And not english native speaker ) so I will try to do my best for helping here :smiley:
The major problem here is that buffer have a lifetime of the function ( This is the third error ) error[E0515]: cannot return value referencing local variable `buffer`
buffer is owned by the function and you push a string slice that is a 'reference' of the dynamic memory allocated by the buffer.
When you will exit the function, the buffer will be dropped and the related string will be freed.
If the compiler allow this, we will have a 'use after free' if a push is done line 17.

Hope this help :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks for quick reply. Now that I look at it I see the problem.

So, according to this assumption, cloning the buffer will get rid of the problem. Let me try that. I will edit this post.

Edit 1: It does not seem like a simple cloning problem since the clone itself also stays in the scope of tokenize_dirty and cannot get it out. Will try something else and provide an edit again.