Cannot borrow `*self` as mutable more than once at a time - how would idomatic Rust code looks like?

Hi there. I'm somewhat new to Rust but I like it so far. But I frequently stumple over the same problem:

cannot borrow *self as mutable more than once at a time

Which is - honestly - a bit annoying. What I want:
Check, if there is an element in an internal Vector. If so, I want to access it, increase the current cursor-position or index and do something with the element. That looks like this:

if self.is_finished() && bundle.allow_next_iteration() {
    self.reset(); // Set index to 0
}

if self.has_next() {
   return self.dequeue().execute(bundle, self); // dequeue get's the current element and increases the index
}

That - obviously - does not work, since I'm borrowing self as mutable twice. But how can I avoid it? Normally I would just give up and work with D or C++, but Rust is so nice so I want to understand how idiomatic Rust code would look like. If necessary, I can provide a full example, which should be ~150 lines of code.
The four important functions are those:

fn dequeue(&mut self) -> &Box<Middleware<B>>
{
    let index = self.index;
    self.index += 1;

&self.middlewares[index]
}

fn has_next(&self) -> bool
{
    self.middlewares.len() > self.index
}

fn is_finished(&self) -> bool
{
    !self.has_next()
}

fn reset(&mut self)
{
    self.index = 0;
}
fn dequeue(&mut self) -> &Box<Middleware<B>>{
   let index = self.index; 
   self.index += 1; 
   &self.middlewares[index]
}

The issue is that returning a &Box<...> extends the mutable borrow of self. Is there a reason you're only logically dequeuing? For example, why not return the Box<...> to the caller, which physically removes it from your vector?

Unless you switch to interior mutability, you won't be able to borrow &mut self if you continue returning &Box<...> and then passing self to the execute() method.