Can you recommend idiomatic code for my reading list

Hey Everyone,

I’ve got 20+ years of experience with Linux & C++, but I’m new here (both to the forums and to the language). I want to get off to the right foot. I’m going to be working my way through the book (2018 edition). But it’s also important to me to start reading lots of high quality, idiomatic, real world Rust code.

To that end, I wanted to post an open-ended request for recommended reading. What code can you recommend? Which code exemplifies the methods and styles you’d most like to see in a new colleague or collaborator?

I’m particularly interested in algorithms, RDBMs/SQL, cross platform guis, and 2d vector graphics. But absolutely any recommendations are very welcome.

Thanks much!
-james s.

This is the best advice I've seen in this forum.

3 Likes

BurntSushi's repositories are generally very well-written examples of rust code, and cover at least one base - algorithms. In particular, regex, and its dependencies, like regex-syntax and aho-corasick are good examples of very fast, yet well written algorithm crates. ripgrep is a high quality (and also very fast) command line tool which uses crates like these.

On the RDBMs side, this isn't SQL, but I've found sled to be quite a nice repository to use, and also to read. It's a full-Rust embeddable nosql database, with, as I understand it, novel data structures, and an implementation that could eventually compete evenly with the likes of RocksDB.

Cross platform GUIs, there are lots of incomplete crates, but I don't think I'd rate any of them as particularly high quality. Or at least, I've used two or three of them, and been slightly horrified at their internals. They're not that bad, just definitely new, and many refactors away from a clean codebase. I think, since this is a huge space and there's a lot to implement before projects get "done", features might be prioritized over cleanliness?