Can reference a part of a slice via Rc to achieve zero copy?

I'm a rust newbie. I'm trying to achieve zero-copy parsing of a file by saving the borrow of &'a [u8], but soon &‘a messes up the lifecycle (again, I'm a newbie :pleading_face: and I don't have much time to struggle with the life cycle), so I want to quickly solve this problem through Rc, but I am lost, I don't know how to convert & [u8] to Rc<[u8]>.

The conversion through Rc::from is effective, but it seems that makes a data copy:

pub data: &'a [u8]
fn read_part(&self, size: usize) -> Rc<[u8]> {
    let part = &self.data[..size]
    Rc::from(part)
}

Any help will be appreciated! Thank you in advance :wink:

Rc can't do that, but you could make a wrapper struct that holds the full Rc<[u8]> and a Range<usize>, then impl Deref to retrieve its &[u8] sub-slice on demand.

5 Likes

Good idea, but how do I convert full &[u8] to Rc<u8>? BTW, the &[u8] is converted from Mmap

The bytes - Rust crate maybe able to help. But it maybe a bit tricky for a newbie. All data needs an owner, Rc types allowed shared ownership (readonly). But that also means Rc<[u8]> owns the data so to make an Rc<[u8]> generally requires coping the data at least once into the Rc. A Bytes type is like a mix of an Arc<[u8]> and a slice, so you can make a Bytes and make a new own that holds a subslice of it but shares the same allocation.

You could have your wrapper hold Rc<Mmap> and a range instead.

Do you really need your "parts" to share ownership though? If you could put lifetime like 'mmap in their type signatures, then you can just borrow &'mmap [u8] slices directly.

2 Likes

Since you're using a Mmap and Rc (only one thread). Then cuviper's suggestion of just borrowing the base mmap is probably the best.

Yes, I'm doing that now, but it's a little tricky because the structures based on it also need the same lifecycle... Now my life cycle is a mess and I want to get out of it as soon as possible