Can a regex match only at a specific index?

Hello, newbie here.

I’m making a library for parsing and syntax-highlighting a string. Assume the string can be very long (10,000 lines or more). I want to know whether a regex matches the string at a specific position.

Simple example:

let re = Regex::new(r"\btakimata\b").unwrap();
let string = "Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore magna aliquyam erat, sed diam voluptua. At vero eos et accusam et justo duo dolores et ea rebum. Stet clita kasd gubergren, no sea takimata sanctus est Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore magna aliquyam erat, sed diam voluptua. At vero eos et accusam et justo duo dolores et ea rebum. Stet clita kasd gubergren, no sea takimata sanctus est Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet.";

if let Some(m) = re.find_at(string, 10) {
    if m.start() == 10 {
        // do something
    }
}

Ideally, this would be an O(1) operation, because in the string the word “takimata” is not at index 10. However, Regex::find_at searches the entire string beginning at index 10, which is unnecessary.

To prevent this, I’m adding ^ to every regex, which means I have to slice the string accordingly:

let re = Regex::new(r"^(\btakimata\b)").unwrap();
let string = &string[10 .. ];

if let Some(m) = re.find(string) {
    // do something
}

This is way more efficient, but now I have no way of finding a word boundary \b at the beginning of the regex. For example:

let re = Regex::new(r"^(\beat\b)").unwrap();
let string = "You are great!";
let string = &string[10 .. ];

if let Some(m) = re.find(string) {
    // do something
}

Here, the regex, which searches for the word “eat”, finds a match, because it only considers the sub-slice “eat!” and assumes a word boundary at the beginning (this is not desired).