Calling Rust from Ruby: FFI vs C extensions?

Hello, enthusiastic Rust newbie here

I'm trying to get my head around the pros and cons of using FFI (Foreign Function Interface) or C extensions to call Rust from Ruby code.

I've seen a few talks, including one by by @steveklabnik about calling Rust from Ruby using C extensions and came across some wrapper libraries such as Helix that help reduce the cognitive overhead induced by the boilerplate code required to create extensions.

I've also read about FFI (Foreign Function Interface). The code examples I've studied seem much more simple to implement. There seems to be also some advantages with FFIs, such as the ease of installation (no compilation required by the user) and portability to other ruby implementations.

What are the pros of C extensions over FFI? Why do talks from Rust core team members revolve around the former instead of the latter? What did I miss?

Fundamentally, C extensions and FFI boil down to the same thing: Ruby knowing how to call C functions, and Rust knowing how to be called like a C function. In fact, I'm not actually sure what the distinction is that you're drawing between the two. Could you maybe link to some of these examples you're talking about?

Sure! Thanks for the quick answer.

Here's an example using C extensions from the skylight blog (under The Magician Secret section, on the right),

The example use both C and Rust code to achieve a faster #blank? method on strings. I suppose all the boilerplate and the usage of ruby.h lib is necessary since this code extend the String class directly from the extension, when Ruby initializes the extension.

Here is another example using FFI. The example does not achieve the same thing but the simplicity of this example struck me, when compared to the first one.

I guess it all comes down to extending Ruby or simply calling foreign functions from Ruby. Right?

2 Likes