Calling async functions for ampqrs

I'm new in Rust and I am struggling a little bit with async functions. The goal of my program is to send messages to a RabbitMQ queue using amqprs.

I have defined two functions, one to get the channel and another one which actually send the message:

//get the channel
    async fn get_amqp_channel() -> Channel {
        let connection_arguments = OpenConnectionArguments::new(RABBIT_SERVER_URL, PORT, USER, PASSWORD);
        let connection = Connection::open(&connection_arguments).await.unwrap();
        return connection.open_channel(None).await.unwrap();
    }

//send the message
    async fn send_amqp_message(channel: &Channel, routing_key: &str, message: String) {
        let publish_arguments = BasicPublishArguments::new(EXCHANGE, routing_key);
        channel.basic_publish(BasicProperties::default(), message.into_bytes(), publish_arguments).await.unwrap();
    }

If I call them from a async function like this, the message is never sent (no panic either):

fn send_command() {
        //build message
        let rt = tokio::runtime::Runtime::new().unwrap();
        rt.block_on(send_message(message_type, serde_json::to_string(&message).unwrap()));
    }

async fn send_message(message_type : String, message : String) {
        let channel = get_amqp_channel().await;
        send_amqp_message(&channel, get_routing_key(message_type).as_str(), message).await;
    }

But, if I combine both functions into a single one, then everything works fine:

async fn send_message(message_type : String, message : String) {
        //get_amqp_channel
        let connection_arguments = OpenConnectionArguments::new(RABBIT_DS_URL, PORT, USER, PASSWORD);
        let connection = Connection::open(&connection_arguments).await.unwrap();
        let channel = connection.open_channel(None).await.unwrap();

//send_amqp_message
        let publish_arguments = BasicPublishArguments::new(EXCHANGE, get_routing_key(message_type).as_str());