Callback to recursive function

Hi!

I'm very new to Rust, but been coding in C, C++ and Python for many years. I somehow managed to build a small JSON parser based on Serde and pure luck, no skills involved! The data comes from Figma's REST API.

My problem is this:
I need to understand the tricky parts of Rust better. I think if I can get below problem solved, and explained, it would help a lot. I understand the concept of dangling pointers and scope in general, but not how to handle them in Rust. The & and * operators seem similar to C/C++, but then there are all these things with lifetime syntax, as_ref(), collect() etc. I have a rough idea about what Box does (allocates data on the heap, right?).

I have already downloaded the JSON file locally.
I first make these calls in main():

let json: String;
json = fs::read_to_string(infile).expect("Read error");
let result = serde_json::from_str(&json);
let res: FullFigma = match result {
        Ok(file) => file,
        Err(error) => panic!("Problem reading JSON {:?}", error),
};

At this point I can directly access JSON elements via the res variable, which is the top of the structure. It has some sub elements of type Document, which are recursive and sequential, plus some other elements which I want to access once this problem is solved.

If I understand correctly, Serde puts the data on the heap, which is probably why I can build and return the ids vector from the traverse_children() function below?

Inside main(), I have defined a callback function named probe(), like this:

fn probe(t: &Document) {
        println!("probe: {}", t.id);
    }

and then I make this call, also from inside main():
let ids = traverse_children(&res.document.children, probe);