Caching values from an owned member breaks lifetime inference

Hello!

Rust beginner here! I'm learning Rust, and in part of my pet project, I have created a caching object, and I'm trying to understand the error messages the compiler is giving me. I tried trimming it down to a minimal example that still gives the error:

use std::collections::HashMap;

struct UT<'a> {
    x: &'a str,
}

struct Factory {
    a: String
}

impl Factory {
    fn new() -> Self {
        Self {
            a: "ABC".to_string()
        }
    }

fn get_ut(&self) -> UT {
        // Some expensive operations here
        UT {
            x: &self.a
        }
    }
}

struct Test<'a> {
    f: Factory,
    cache: HashMap<String, UT<'a>>
}

impl<'a> Test<'a> {
    fn get_entry(&mut self, key: String) -> &'a str {
        if !self.cache.contains_key(&key) {
            let u = self.f.get_ut();
            self.cache.insert(key.clone(), u);
        }

self.cache.get(&key).unwrap().x
    }
}

fn main() {
    let mut t = Test {
        f: Factory::new(),
        cache: HashMap::new()
    };

t.get_entry("A".to_string());
}

Playground link

The error:

error[E0495]: cannot infer an appropriate lifetime for autoref due to conflicting requirements
  --> src/main.rs:34:28
   |
34 |             let u = self.f.get_ut();
   |                            ^^^^^^
   |
note: first, the lifetime cannot outlive the anonymous lifetime #1 defined on the method body at 32:5...
  --> src/main.rs:32:5
   |
32 | /     fn get_entry(&mut self, key: String) -> &'a str {
33 | |         if !self.cache.contains_key(&key) {
34 | |             let u = self.f.get_ut();
35 | |             self.cache.insert(key.clone(), u);
...  |
38 | |         self.cache.get(&key).unwrap().x
39 | |     }
   | |_____^
note: ...so that reference does not outlive borrowed content
  --> src/main.rs:34:21
   |
34 |             let u = self.f.get_ut();
   |                     ^^^^^^