C++ tool that takes care of errors as it’s done in Rust compiling

I was not sure where to ask my question. So, I ended up asking here. Please ignore my question if it's off-topic on this forum.

I'm a C++ developer who wants to enjoy the same advantages that the Rust compiler provides. I'm looking for a C++ tool to enforce what the Rust compiler enforces. Is there such a C++ tool out there? Or is it just a pipe dream?

The Rust language was purposefully designed so that the compiler can make those checks. I know there's some C++ static analysis tools that can catch some mistakes and enforce certain rules (I don't know what they're called), but it won't be exactly like Rust, especially because other libraries don't contain the machine-readable information that is built-into Rust libraries with respect to borrows and thread safety.

However, one of the focuses of Rust is being interoperable with other languages, so you can mix C++ and Rust in one codebase if you are interested in trying it out or rewriting your C++.

2 Likes

That really is a question for the C++ community. There are things like the C++ Core Guidelines and related static analysis tools that are meant to increase C++ safety, but you really should find out more about that from the people who know (C++ programmers). Is there a C++ forum of some kind?

3 Likes

Many C++ users check their code for memory misuse errors, data race errors etc using tools such as address sanitiser (asan) thread sanitiser (tsan) and perhaps other analysers I have forgotten about.

These analysers don't do static analysis they detect problems at run time. Which means you have to run your code as tests or a full program to let the detect any problems, Performance is impacted so not usable in production running.

There is also valgrind: Valgrind

I imagine mixing C++ and Rust is more of a pain than one would like. Rust has good interop with C but does not understand the higher level abstractions of C++.

2 Likes