Building/Linking with MSVC seems to be extremely slow (When using Cmder/ConEmu)

Hi folks,

I'm curious if any of the other folks out there using msvc and rust have found builds to be almost insanely slow.

With the same laptop running linux, the builds weren't anything unusual.

Since I'm relatively new to doing any kind of daily dev work on Windows I was wondering if this wasn't perhaps an obvious tool configuration problem that the uninitiated stumble upon.

My general workflow is to run cmder, initialize the environment with vcvarsall (which takes an insane amount of time in it's own right), then run emacs from that shell. I start my builds using cargo with projectile.

I'm generally comfortable and happy with all of this workflow, but if I could improve the build/link times it would be a major QoL improvement.

I'm using Windows 10 and VS 14. I've just started using rustup instead of the official installer, but either perform the same. The version of rustc is 1.8.0-msvc.

Cheers!

1 Like

Vcvars init is like ~1 sek for me so that sounds odd.

In general I have no problem at all using the MSVC version of Rust.

hrmm... this must be some bad juju with cmder then. :confused: I just ran vcvars under a vanilla cmd.exe and it was totally snappy.

I believe you're correct that this is something to do with cmder. I tested in PowerShell and vcbuildtools.bat was nearly instantaneous, but running the same script in a cmder window took several seconds. The real problem will be tracking this down since cmder is a wrapper around ConEmu and clink.

I've opened an issue about this: Batch File Slow to Load

well it's a bummer but I will survive!

cmd.exe is the worst when you've been using linux for decades. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

PowerShell isn't bad as a replacement, and the startup times on Windows 10 are vastly improved. It also supports VT100 colors with Windows 10, woohoo!

But cmder makes life much nicer.