Borrowing and the self keyword in implemented methods

Hey there!

I'm a new rust developer. I'm a University student, and I'm trying to branch out to languages outside of the C-sphere that universities tend to be stuck in.

Coming from a C++ background, I am finding the ownership rules of rust the hardest to manage.

I have two methods:

fn event_handler(&mut self){
    for event in self.event_pump.poll_iter(){
        self.is_running = self.event_window(event);
    }

}

and

fn event_window(&self, event: sdl2::event::Event)-> bool {
    let mut running = self.is_running;
    match event {
     sdl2::event::Event::Quit{ .. } => running = false,
     _ => {},
    }
    return running;
}

I receive the error

C:/Users/plays/.cargo/bin/cargo.exe run --package Game_Prototype --bin Game_Prototype
Compiling Game_Prototype v0.1.0 (G:\ProgrammingModding\GameEngine2D)
error[E0502]: cannot borrow *self as immutable because self.event_pump is also borrowed as mutable
--> src\game_context.rs:26:31
|
25 | for event in self.event_pump.poll_iter(){
| --------------- - mutable borrow ends here
| |
| mutable borrow occurs here
26 | self.is_running = self.event_window(event);
| ^^^^ immutable borrow occurs here

I understand why this error occurs. event_window() receives an immutable reference to self, whereas self.event_pump.poll_iter() is a mutable reference, and you cannot have a mutable reference borrow before an immutable reference borrow.

I'm not sure how I'm supposed to structure these methods in the way that rust's ownership rules would like me to, however. I tried changing event_window() to receive a mutable reference, but rust does not allow for two mutable borrows, either.

event_window() is supposed to iterate over the event queue of my program, and then test each given event for a list of event types, each split into their own functions for readability. (I.e., window events will have their own function, and key press events will have their own function)