"borrowed value doesn't live long enough" at the end of main?

I'm new to rust - and it seems I don't get it.
Why does the following piece of code lead to an error?
As far as I understand it, "cap" and "body" are dropped both at the end - so why is he complaining?

use regex::Regex;
use std::thread;
fn main() {
    let body = String::from("Testing test text");
    let re = Regex::new(r###"(?ms)test"###).unwrap();
    let cap = re.captures(&body).unwrap();
    let ci = cap.get(1).unwrap().as_str();
    let mut hnds = vec![];
    for c in 0..4 {
        let hnd = thread::spawn(move || {
            println!("{}", ci);
        });
        hnds.push(hnd);
    }
    for hnd in hnds {
        hnd.join().unwrap();
    }
}

Greetz,
Nova

The closure argument to thread::spawn is required to be 'static, which means it may not capture any temporary (non-'static) references. That includes ci here, since it borrows data (body) that is not allocated for the whole lifetime of the program.

A typical way to avoid this constraint when you need to pass non-'static references to threads is to use the "scoped threads" provided by a crate like crossbeam or rayon. (Rust's standard library previously included scoped threads, but they were removed just before the 1.0 release when a soundness problem was discovered. crossbeam and rayon have fixed this soundness problem.)

1 Like

Super fast answer... thanks, I'll try that :slight_smile:

To elaborate, the reason that the closure passed to thread::spawn must be 'static is that a thread spawned in this way could keep running for an unbounded amount of time, including after the main thread exits [edit: reading the documentation again I don't think this is right]. So the compiler can't guarantee that a temporary reference passed to a spawned thread will remain valid for the whole time that thread runs. Scoped threads solve this by causing spawned threads to be automatically joined at the end of a defined scope: