Borrowed value does not live long enough for returned static variable

I'm new to Rust, could somebody help to fix this? Thanks!

I want to return a global static Vec, but it can't build. The code is put in Playground, a short code paste here:

static mut g_prev_locators: Option<&mut Locators> = None;
fn prev_locators() -> &'static mut Locators {
	unsafe {
		match g_prev_locators {
			Some(ref mut s) => &mut **s,
			None => {
				g_prev_locators = Some(&mut Locators::new());
				g_prev_locators.unwrap()
			}
		}
	}
}

The build error:

|                 g_prev_locators = Some(&mut Locators::new());
   |                                             ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ - temporary value only lives until here
   |                                             |
   |                                             temporary value does not live long enough

I am not sure about what you would like to try, so my reply could be useless.

First of all, it looks like a very nice footgun :grin:, and I will explain you why. Assuming we make your code compile, g_prev_locators is shared across threads and it is mutable. Therefore, you can easily take the location from prev_locators, then take the value out from g_prev_locators and deng you have a dangling pointer (I am assuming you wanted to store Locators inside g_prev_locators, not its reference, otherwise you are not storing it anywhere).

Now, what I think you wanted to do is initialize a common Locators that can be accessed from many functions. First of all, you have to decide if you want to be thread local or not, because this makes a difference. I will show you both approaches.

Thread local

The basic read-only approach is not so hard to do, take a look:

#[derive(Debug)]
pub struct Locators(pub Vec<(u64, u64)>);

impl Locators {
	pub fn new() -> Locators {
		Locators(vec![])
	}
}

thread_local! {
    static LOCATORS: Locators = Locators::new();
}

fn main() {
    LOCATORS.with(|locators| println!("loc={:?}", locators));
}