Bitfield and Union for low level data structures and type conversion in rust

Hi everybody,
I am really new to Rust (just a few days). In my startup (Pollen Robotics) we choose to switch from C to Rust but I still have C running on my head. I will need some help to switch my thought flow to Rust.

My first struggle is due to data structures and unions. In my company we do some pretty low level and embeded things so I need to manage bitfield data and unions. Here is the code like I think it in C :

typedef struct __attribute__((__packed__)){
    union {
        struct __attribute__((__packed__)){
            unsigned short protocol : 4;
            unsigned short target : 12;
            unsigned short target_mode : 4;
            unsigned short source : 12;
            unsigned char cmd;
            unsigned char size;
        };
        unsigned char unmap[6]; // Unmapped form.
    };
}header_t;

I use this union to switch easily from a mapped to an unmapped form. I can write to header_t.protocol or header_t.source and get it back as u8 array using header_t.unmap. This switch uses no time and shares the same memory block.

I tried to do the same thing in Rust but I didn't find a clean way to do it. I succeeded in making it using two structures and a dedicated impl to switch between them:

#[allow(dead_code)]
pub struct Header {
    protocol:    u8,  // 4 bits used
    target:      u16, // 12 bits used
    target_mode: u8,  // 4 bits used
    source:      u16, // 12 bits used
    cmd:         u8,  // 8 bits used
    size:        u8,  // 8 bits used
}

#[allow(dead_code)]
pub struct UnmapHeader{
    tab:[u8; 6],
}

impl Header {
    #[allow(dead_code)]
    pub fn unmap(&self) -> UnmapHeader {
        let mut unmap_header = UnmapHeader { tab: [0; 6],};
        unmap_header.tab[0] = (self.protocol & 0b0000_1111) | (self.target << 4) as u8;
        unmap_header.tab[1] = (self.target >> 4) as u8;