Binary serialization in custom format

Hi all, I'm pretty new to Rust and I was trying to implement a custom binary serialization. I've seen that serde (and bincode) seem to be the standard de facto in Rust, which is actually nice.
My problem is that I have custom structs (bringing it from the java world) and I want to write bytes in a bytebuffer (DataOutputStream in Java) to write down my own format.

The struct is very simple

pub struct MyStruct {
        size: u32,
        offsets: Vec<u32>,
        strings: Vec<u8>,
    }

size indicates how many strings I'm storing
offsets indicates where the string start and ends on the string vector
strings is the vector of all the strings one after the other.

For instance, when storing "foo" "bar I will have

• size to 2
  • offsets to be: [16, 19, 22] that represent where the strings start and ends in the sequence of bytes
  • strings to be [98, 97, 114, 102, 111, 111] (the byte representation for "foobar"

The structure serialized will give this sequence of bytes:
[0, 0, 0, 2, 0, 0, 0, 16, 0, 0, 0, 19, 0, 0, 0, 22, 98, 97, 114, 102, 111, 111]

As you can see there is size 2 (the first 4 bytes), the offsets to see where the string starts and end (foo start after 16 for 22-16=3 bytes, bar starts after 19 for 22-19=3 bytes).

Now, doing this in java is pretty simple (sorry for the comparison). When serializing I just do a bunch of DataOutputStream.writeInt(), DataOutputStream.write() and when deserializing I do the opposite: ByteBuffer.getInt(), ByteBuffer.get() in the corresponding for loops.

I was trying to do the same in Rust, and I got to know serde which looked a pretty fancy idea to remove a bunch of boilerplate I didn't really need from the java variant. But I've ended up with even more code so I suspect I'm doing something wrong.

Here's my implementation:

#[cfg(test)]
mod test {
    use super::*;
    use bincode::Options;
    use serde::ser::SerializeStruct;