Bimap for Result

I'm new to Rust, coming from a functional Scala background. I noticed in a few places in my code when dealing with Result types that I'm calling map and map_err immediately after, when I want to return a Result after applying the appropriate function (depending on whether the result is Ok or `Err'). In Scala, we'd call this 'bimap'.

I don't see such a function defined on Result - .map_or_else is close, but it wants to return a non-result type. Can I define something like it?

I tried to sketch out something like it:

use std::ops::FnOnce;

trait ResultOps<T, E> {
    fn bi_map<U, A, B, D: FnOnce(E) -> B, F: FnOnce(T) -> A>(self, l: D, r: F) -> Result<A, B>;
}

impl ResultOps<T, E> for Result<T, E> {
    fn bi_map<U, A, B, D: FnOnce(E) -> B, F: FnOnce(T) -> A>(self, l: D, r: F) -> Result<A, B> {
        match self {
            Ok(t) => Ok(r(t)),
            Err(e) => Err(l(e)),
        }
    }
}

Am I close? The compiler is happy with my trait, but can't find T or E in my implementation:

cannot find type `T` in this scope

not found in this scope

Very close!

You need to tell rust that you're going to use a generic type:

impl<T,E> ResultOps<T, E> for Result<T, E> 

Also the U generic looks to be unneeded.

1 Like

You're right, thanks! This seems to compile and it works in my code:

use std::ops::FnOnce;

pub trait ResultOps<T, E> {
    fn bi_map<A, B, D: FnOnce(E) -> B, F: FnOnce(T) -> A>(self, l: D, r: F) -> Result<A, B>;
}

impl<T, E> ResultOps<T, E> for Result<T, E> {
    fn bi_map<A, B, D: FnOnce(E) -> B, F: FnOnce(T) -> A>(self, l: D, r: F) -> Result<A, B> {
        match self {
            Ok(t) => Ok(r(t)),
            Err(e) => Err(l(e)),
        }
    }
}

As for why it's like this: It's possible to make a non-generic impl block. So you can do

impl ResultOps<PathBuf, String> for Result<PathBuf, String> {

at which point you don't want those to be the names of generic parameters.