Bigints, U2048 and Number Theory

I'm converting over a number theory library I wrote in C# many years ago. It has all generic arguments and I'd like to use bigints as generics but the lack of the copy trait keeps tripping me up. Everything works great for i128 but that's not gonna work to factor very large numbers. I like the uint crate with up to u2048 with fixed size but this time the lack of Signed trips me up. I'm just getting started in Rust so I may very well be missing something but changing everything over to satisfy either the constraints of bigints or u2048 seems very difficult so I thought I could make a wrapper for an unsigned type to make it a signed type so I'd effectively turn the u2048 into an i2048. I'd just make a structure with is_neg: bool for sign and abs_val for the magnitude which would be unsigned. I then have to do all the traits so that the arithmetic is done correctly but it seems doable, though a bit tedious. Being new to Rust though, I hesitate to start on such a thing if I'm ultimately doomed to failure or if there's an easier way to handle things or perhaps if somebody has already done such a thing. Looking for advice here though I'm diving into the wrapper for now. It'll be a learning experience if nothing else. Thanks for any ideas.

The num crate has both signed and unsigned 'Big Integer' types. I've used those types with no problems.

2 Likes

If one doesn't exist, the existing Copy but unsigned implementation is going to be the easier one to wrap or modify. But it will be tedious.

1 Like

If you can lower the requirements to a Clone you will have a much easier time.
It is possible to write a stack allocated version using const generics or macros, but the former is definitively not beginner friendly and the latter is still very difficult (to debug).

There are also existing crates for this:

2 Likes