Best practices on setters and accessor methods in general

Hello,
I'm a new rust developer, coming from object oriented languages, so I have a question about best practices on how to translate some concepts about getters/setters method.
Suppose I have a struct that mimics a record in a database:

struct User {
    username: String,
    password: String
}

This struct would be passed to some sort of database library that will create an INSERT sql statement and execute it.
Normally the password field would be encrypted with an algorhytm of some sort before being written to the db.
In an object oriented language I would make the username and password fields private and then declare methods like getUserrname, setUsername, getPassword and setPassword.
The setPassword method in particular would be something like this (I use php as an example):

function setPassword($value)
{
    $this->password = encrpyt_magic_function($value);
}

This would allow me to always have valid values inside an instance of User because they are validated when setting them.
What are the best practices to achieve this sort of goal in Rust?
Thanks,
Frank

In Rust fields of structs are private outside of the module that defines the struct.

mod user { // content of {} could be in a file too
   pub struct User { password: String }
   impl User {
      pub fn set_password(&mut self, pass: &str) { 
         self.password = encrypt(pass); 
      }
   }
}

fn foo(u: &user::User) {
    u.password; // error!
}

So you can write getters and setters as usual. In Rust it's easier if you can avoid getters and setters (because borrow checker is more flexible with direct field access), but if you need them, they're possible to write.

In Rust, since data is by default immutable, we usually use simple fields and modules can use them directly, on a "need to know" basis. This is facilitated by the module and visibility system which is quite rich.