Best practices for conversion between types defined in external crates

Hello,

First of all, I apologize if this is noise for most of you. I am new to rust but used c++ a fair amount ~5y ago. I have also never posted on any such forum, so any constructive feedback on how I pose my questions is greatly appreciated.

I am working on a project that requires conversion between types defined in two external crates. My specific example is nalgebra::DMatrix<f64> to ndarray::Array2<f64>, but the problem itself is quite a general one and it brings up the issue of the "orphan rule". Having had some past experience with messy inheritance in c++, I think I understand the rationale behind this rule, but it seems to create some unnecessary fluff. I followed the suggestion from the rust documentation of using a thin wrapper (e.g. a tuple struct) and implementing Deref trait. However,Deref has some serious limitations in terms of which method calls will actually be directly available (see this discussion on "receivers", etc), not to mention a general tendency to hide things that could be made more explicit/plain.

Here is an example of something that potentially "works":
Cargo.toml

name = "rs-nalgebra-to-ndarray-test"
version = "0.1.0"
edition = "2021"

[dependencies]
nalgebra = { version = "0.32" } 
ndarray = { version = "0.15" }

src/lib

pub mod matrix {
    // per the book, make thin wrapper (eg tuple struct)
    pub struct Matrix(nalgebra::DMatrix<f64>);

// per the book, get access to underlying methods by implementing Deref
    // n.b. not usually a great idea; obfuscates/complicates things later
    impl std::ops::Deref for Matrix {
        type Target = nalgebra::DMatrix<f64>;

fn deref(&self) -> &Self::Target {
            &self.0
        }
    }

impl std::convert::From<nalgebra::DMatrix<f64>> for Matrix {
        fn from(value: nalgebra::DMatrix<f64>) -> Self {
            Self(value)
        }
    }

impl std::convert::From<Matrix> for ndarray::Array2<f64> {