Behavior Protocols in Rust

I'm just starting out with Rust and so far, there is a lot of good stuff I like about the language and especially its type system. I do have a bit of a background in type system and, currently, considering Rust as a contender to port some highly specialized Swift code.

One of the key aspects about Swift is the concept of Protocols over generics, which essentially defines a set of fields that must be specialized and a set of methods that must be implemented whenever applying a protocol. The concept is well documented.

https://docs.swift.org/swift-book/LanguageGuide/Protocols.html

I used Swift and especially in a project to build a proof of concept leaning heavily on protocols, which worked and got the job done. However, the PoC isn't portable to Golang, the main language of the project, due to the lack of generics in Golang and overall a fairly basic type system.

For a number of reason, Swift became dead on arrival and must be replaced. Go isn't doing the trick either, but because the actual delivery is a standard microservice communicating over a binary protocol, I am free to bring in any language that can replace the Swift code base.

Rust seems to tick off a lot of important requirements:

• Generics
  • Traits
  • Type hierarchy
  • Nice compiler
  • Higher order functions and a lot more of the good FP stuff.

The goal is to define a collection of type T and then attach a custom set of methods only applicable to collections of type T and these collection methods actually call functions attached to items of type T.

In Swift, I can write a protocol that essentially extends an existing type to add new functionality.
Say, I have collection of type T and I extend that collection with a function called Thinking(). The Swift compiler then attaches that function to any collection of Type T.

In Rust, I believe there a roughly two ways: