Beginner to rust

Hi
I am new to learning rust. I am currently avoiding finishing some math and english homework.

how did you learn rust and how did you manage to balance learning rust with work and school life (that is if this applies to you).

what are some goals and deadline that you set for learning rust.

First I skimmed, read through the book understanding what I could and flying past the complex stuff. All the way to the end.

Then I read the book, understanding what I could. Typing the examples and playing a bit. Doing the typing, compiling, etc. Understanding or not, play with the code a bit , then on to next chapter. All the way to the end.

Then I read the book, understanding quite a bit more. Doing the typing. This time, the file placement, modules, workspace, etc start to work in my brain.
While reading the book repeatedly I also take breaks and read, skim the standard library. "rustup doc std::vec" for example...

Now I am lurking here while I go through the book a fourth time.

Learning Rust for me can be a form of structured procrastination, meaning:

". . . anyone can do any amount of work, provided it isn't the work he is supposed to be doing at that moment." - Robert Benchley

4 Likes