Beginner questions to convert super tiny compiler from JS to Rust

Hi,

I'm still a beginner in learning Rust. I try to convert the super tiny compiler from JS to Rust. I try to follow the JS example as much as possible, but also be as Rust idiomatic as possible. I currently implemented the tokenizer and the parser. However I'm very unsure, if my Rust code is "good". My ported Rust code lives here.

I have several questions and I'd be very happy to get some feedback.

1. Is c if c.is_whitespace() => (), the correct way to call methods inside match? (source)
  2. I want to peek into the next char and if it fits my needs, I want to consume it. For this I currently need to call next (here) with Some() even when I know through peek (here) that my value is correct. Is there a way to get rid if the second Some()?
  3. In my parser function I try to map a vector of tokens to an AST. However I have a hard time to get the values out of my tokens which are modelled as an enum. I use &Token::Number(ref value @ _) => Ok(Ast::NumberLiteral(value.to_string())), (here) to get my value. &, ref value @ _ and value.to_string() seem to be super hacky. Is there a better way to do this?
  4. I mocked tokens in my test (here), but they are moved here. Can I re-use the same tokens somehow, so I don't need to make them again (here)?

Thank you very much! :heart:

It is correct, but there is nothing done inside this match. The if c.is_whitespace() part is called a guard; c matches anything, but this arm only matches if the method is_whitespace on that anything returns true. The () after the match arrow is not a function call but an empty tuple, signifying that this arm does nothing and returns nothing.

2 Likes

Hi, and welcome to Rust!

1. Yes!
  2. This is a case where using unwrap is fine. You can also simplify the match to a while let. So:
    while let Some(&'0'...'9') = char_iter.peek() {
        value.push(char_iter.next().unwrap());
    }