Basic way to send HTTP Request with different param/header/token in Rust (No Async/Await)

I am looking into some good HTTP library with Rust, to do get/post command. However, as I am new to Rust, I am not sure which library is a good place to start.
For example, there is a library in Go that can perform GET as follow:

resp, err := client.R().
      SetQueryParams(map[string]string{
          "page_no": "1",
          "limit": "20",
          "sort":"name"
      }).
      SetHeader("Accept", "application/json").
      SetHeader("Connection", "keep-alive").
      SetAuthToken("1234ABCD").
      Get("/search_result")

I do not need it to be asynchronous, but many examples with rusts are shown with async function, which further confused me. In the examples that I have come across, most requests involve async/await... I mean, why, was that really necessary, or is it just because the library was designed that way?
So anyway, I wonder which library in Rust would allow me to set various parameters, header or token as versatile (or in a similar form) as the previous syntax, which I presume it's very basic. Thank you.

Whats the reason why you don’t want to use async functions though? In case you’re just unsure how to call them in a synchronous context: there’s always the possibility to use block_on.

The reason why most APIs for networking are using async/await is: It is often not the case that you want to block your whole program, or a whole OS-thread to wait for an answer from the network. Another reason is that asynchronous API can still be used when you want to just block and wait for the result (as explained above, with e.g. "block_on"), while you cannot really use a synchronous API asynchronously (without the overhead of spawning lots of threads).

1 Like