Auto scaling Web Architecture Strategy

I am new to Rust and am attempting to lay out a game plan for an architecture that could be described as:

"Auto scaling, Redundant, Cloud Infrastructure, with Failover RESTful API/WebSocket Architecture"

I am trying to lay out the binaries that need to be written and the crates I need to use/learn.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Environment Assumptions:

1. All binaries are written in Rust
  2. Client applications are either Web SPA or mobile apps that can communicate with web sockets or RESTful APIs over HTTP2/TLS. I.e. my web servers do not need to serve static files.
  3. Binaries (processes) are run in either VMs or Containers running within Kubernetes or some other orchestration tool that allows autoscaling.
  4. The most critical bottleneck in the application framework is the writing to the writable database. Reads may be able to come from caches and read only replicas. And all other instances can scale.
  5. The number of connections to the databases need to be constrained. As long as the architecture is configurable, future metrics can determine the proper levels of max connections.
  6. The connectivity between the binaries should be considered insecure and as a result, all communication between components should occur over a single TLS secured socket that is maintained. Preferably by mutual TLS authentication that does not rely on root certificates installed on the host but instead by checking the public keys against a distributed white list.
  7. Databases may be relational, NOSQL, or a new type of database written to handle queries that don't map onto these traditional database types effectively.
  8. Desire to use async/.await for all communication over sockets (except maybe the database connections -- more below)

Process/Executable Types:
The following binaries will likely be required:

1. Web Server Instances (Autoscaling)
    A) Serves RESTful API
    B) Serves Web Sockets
  2. Redundant Controllers