Asynchronous synchronous code

Hi everyone!

I’m a Rust noob, and I may have just stumbled into something easy to fix that, as a noob, I just can’t fix so far.

Well, I’ve got a function mapping an array, nothing weird. For debugging purposes it prints the array before returning it.
You can find it here: https://github.com/yobicash/libyobicash/blob/testing/src/models/outpoint/mod.rs#L101

Then there is this test, where the printed, existing array, get returned empty, and printed empty. What’s even stranger, is that it seems that the various prints get executed disorderly.
You can find the code here: https://github.com/yobicash/libyobicash/blob/testing/tests/models/tx/mod.rs#L471

It’s rustup v1.5.0, rustc v1.18.0, cargo v0.19.0. Just cargo test – --nocapture.

So, noob question: does Rust have some sort of asynchronicity in synchronous code?

Oh, well, one more info: it’s stable.

I really can’t wrap my head around this problem, and I don’t get if it’s very stupid or very scary or that I’ve just misunderstood something on tests execution, etc.

Regarding the order of the prints, cargo test runs tests concurrently, order of execution is not deterministic.

I see two calls to outpoints.to_inputs()
Without your printed output or running the code no idea what you describe as disorderly.

Regarding the empty inputs, obviously that means your inputs vec in to_inputs() is empty. Given that to_inputs() returns Ok then that means you didn’t push anything on it, which means you that your iterator’s first call to next() should have returned None and stopped there. So either your vec of outpoints is empty (which doesn’t seem to be the case) or calling self.check() on your first outpoint returned an Err which you turned into a None in your Iterator impl. So it stopped there.

It’s important to understand that iterators stop at the first None encountered, but that doesn’t always mean there isn’t any other element left afterwards.

From the stdlib doc: