Async tasks and sender

A Rust newbie here! I am facing a challenge for which I can't see a clear solution and would appreciate any pointer that would at least show me the right direction. Challenge is as follows:

I have to use an async function from a library which takes an std::sync::mpsc::Sender (library does not allow tokio::sync) as input and provides real time measurement values via the channel.

For testing and illustration purposes, I created a sandbox version of the library call as follows (the internals of the real function are a black box)

async fn a_lib_func(tx: Sender<String>, name: String) {
    loop {
        thread::sleep( time::Duration::from_secs(1));
        let now = time::Instant::now(); 
        tx.send(format!("[{}] {:?}",name, now)).unwrap();
    }
}

In the real application, I will need tens of these tasks running concurrently. Thus, there will be a main monitoring async fn along the following lines (using only one task for simplicity)

async fn monitor() {    
    let (tx, rx) = std::sync::mpsc::channel::<String>();

tokio::task::spawn(async move {
        a_lib_func(tx,"one".to_string()).await;
    });

while let Ok(msg) = rx.recv() {
        println!("[a_lib_func] {:?}",msg);
    }
}

#[tokio::main]
async fn main() {    
    monitoring().await;
}

When I run this, everything works as expected. And now for the challenge: several of these tasks will need some post-processing before the monitoring loop can digest the input, thus I tried to create a simple "wrapper" function that calls the library function a_lib_func(). The wrapper function if for this example practically identical to the monitoring function:

async fn wrapper() {

a_lib_func(tx,"two".to_string()).await;
    });

// would post-process the data here and pass it back in a channel
        // left out for simplicities sake
        println!("[wrapper] {:?}",msg);
    }
}