Async for lib crates in mid-2020: Tokio, Async-Std, Smol – which one to choose?

Hi,

I'm working on a library that could benefit from async execution.

A lot happened in the last 6 months in this space, so I'm wondering what the best way to build my lib would be.

Ideally, users could choose the async runtime of their choice, but how do I make this possible?

I have no experience and almost no knowledge in regard to async/await in Rust (and I'm new to Rust in general), so I'd be grateful for every hint and advice.

At the moment I assume, the way to go is Smol (because Smol seems to run async-std and seems to be able to run Tokio) + some helper libs that are compatible with all async libs (I need a WebSocket client, which could be async-tungstenite, maybe a thread pool (for CPU intense tasks), and I probably need an async channel lib).

If the above currently is not possible to archive – what would be the next best thing?

Writing async libraries that support any runtime will require advice specific to the thing you are doing.

Beware of falling in the trap of considering things like async-tungstenite executor agnostic. Silently spawning an async-std or smol runtime in the background regardless of which runtime the user is using is not being executor agnostic, even if it looks like it is working.

For the specific case of async-tungstenite, the library that can actully be used with any runtime is tokio-tungstenite. It provides executor agnostic internals, along with a Tokio integration. The async-tungstenite library uses the executor agnostic parts of tokio-tungstenite and puts an async-std integration around them.

As for choice of runtime, I generally recommend Tokio.

Edit: It looks like stuff has happened regarding the tungstenite libraries since I last looked. In any case, the pitfall of always starting an async-std runtime in the background and calling it executor agnostic is common.

1 Like