Async callbacks in Rust

Hi there! I am pretty new to async Rust and still struggle with parts of it.
I want to store async callbacks and then execute the later in a detached manner.
My current type for storing them looks like this:

pub(crate) type AsyncCallback<I> = dyn Fn(I) -> Pin<Box<dyn Future<Output = ()>>> + 'static;

#[derive(Clone)]
pub(crate) struct OptionalCallback<I> {
    inner: Arc<Option<Box<AsyncCallback<I>>>>,
}

As mentioned above I am looking for a way to execute them in a detached manner, so I don't want to await the saved future, as the result type of the callback is (), I am also not interested in the result of the Fn. Is this possible without having a reference to a runtime that spawns the future? And is this even a proper way of saving the futures?

Thanks a lot!

Hi :wave:

Yeah, you're on the right track; just know that Arc<…Box< can be flattened down to a simple Arc, as in, you can use Arc to wrap a dyn trait.

Moreover, if you wish to spawn the tasks and have the spin in the background, as in, in a background thread, you'll need a Send bound as well.

Since Pin<Box<dyn 'static + Send + Future<Output = …>>> is a mouthful, you have the BoxFuture<'static, …> handy alias in the ::futures crate:

+ use ::futures::future::{BoxFuture, FutureExt}; // FutureExt provides a `.boxed()` adapter on futures to pin-box-dyn them up.

- pub(crate) type AsyncCallback<I> = dyn Fn(I) -> Pin<Box<dyn Future<Output = ()>>> + 'static;
+ pub(crate) type DynAsyncCallback<I> = dyn 'static + Send + Sync + Fn(I) -> BoxFuture<'static, ()>;
  …

-     inner: Arc<Option<Box<AsyncCallback<I>>>>,
+     inner: Option<Arc<DynAsyncCallback<I>>,
  • I've taken the liberty to add that Dyn to the alias name, since I find it more readable to have the outer dyns be as visible as possible. You could even go the extra mile and use a "trait alias" pattern to have it be even more readable:

trait_alias! {