Are there security issues with Command::new("cmd").arg("/C").args(user_input)?

I'm building a program that needs access to the elm compiler, which may be installed via npm. In such cases, it seems the only way to execute it in Windows is via Command::new("cmd").arg("/C").arg("elm"). The thing is, users of my tests runner can pass as argument the path to their executable if needed. Concretely, this is the current code, which works on linux/mac and windows for actual executables (not cmd shells):

let executable = which::CanonicalPath::new(compiler)?;
    Command::new(executable)
        .arg("make")
        .current_dir(current_dir)
        .status()

where compiler comes from a CLI --compiler argument so may contain anything that the user gives. I'm no security expert but usually, we should never trust user inputs for things that get passed to an evaluation mechanism. So if I add a special case for Windows doing something like

Command::new("cmd")
    .arg("/C")
    .arg(compiler)
    .args(some_args)
    .status()

when the executable is not found, am I exposed to security threats? Is there a documentation somewhere on how to handle that safely? Or am I being over-cautious for nothing?

The status function returns a Result<ExitStatus>, which you don't appear to be checking in your example code, so this could allow for undefined behavior. What you could use is its success function in order to verify that the command exited successfully. There's also other associated functions implemented for ExitStatus that may or may not be better suited to your exact purpose. The examples in the docs should be helpful enough, but here's an example using your code:

let status = Command::new(executable)
        .arg("make")
        .current_dir(current_dir)
        .status()
        .expect("failed to execute make");

assert!(status.success(), "make did not succeed");