Any async-task-queue library/crate?

Hi, I just started learning Rust this year.

I am trying to build a multi-device web application (that runs on web and android), where the user expects each of their actions runs sequentially. They do not want to run it in parallel.

So in this very specific case, I need an asynchronous task queue. Correct me if I was wrong as I am new in System Design too, but I strongly confident it is the only solution.

Is there any libraries/crates that provides me asynchronous task queue?

Any help is welcome.
Regards, @thebluetropics from Indonesia.

When you say multi-device, do you mean that the queue spans many devices (i.e. is probably stored on a central server/service) or merely that the application targets multiple platforms, and each instance has a local queue? If the latter, does the queue persist across the application quitting/restarting?

2 Likes

Yes, it is stored on a central server/service. Basically, first-in first-out queue (i.e a client request that comes earlier will be processed earlier too).

Let's say there's two device(client) that send a request to the server (we call it "action"), Client A and Client B.

Let's say Client B's action arrives first on the server, the action requires about 24ms to complete. So, if Client A send an action to the server, they must wait for 24ms.

The other user in the server doesn't get affected by each other.

I believe it has nothing to do with something else. All I need is an asynchronous task queue, similar to the Queue in Async Javascript Library.

Thanks for any help.

I also asked whether the queue needs to be persistent across restarts.

If not, then all you need is an async channel and an async task which takes items from the receiving side of the channel and executes them. If so, then I don't have any specific recommendation.

2 Likes

My bad.

No, it doesn't have to be persistent across restarts. If it is, I think I can implement them myself.