An explaination of &str vs String

Hey guys,

I'm just starting to learn rust and spent some time on str vs String vs &str etc. I know this has been discussed a million times, but despite all forum and stackoverflow posts, I never got a feeling that I understood it completely, until recently I figured two points that were missing (for me). Here I'd like to describe my understanding and kindly ask you to check if it's correct or not.

So, let's say we have some type T except str. Then

• [T] is type which represents a contiguous sequence of unspecified number of elements of type T in memory
  • &[T] is type which represents a reference to such a sequence
  • Vec<T> is a dynamically allocatable sequence of T

Now with strings there is a catch - we want them to be valid UTF-8 characters, but UTF-8 characters can occupy different number of bytes in memory. In Rust there is a primitive type char but it's always 4 bytes in size. Let's imagine there is a magical type uchar which represents a valid UTF-8 character but with minimal suitable size. Then

• str would be [uchar]
  • &str would be &[uchar], i.e. a sequence of uchar somewhere in memory
  • String would be Vec<uchar>

This was the first point that I was missing - why do we need a separate type system for strings to begin with. Now the second point - there's a difference in how strings are handled.

When we write

let x = 1i16;
let y = 1i16;

what happens is that we have x and y represented in memory as 2 bytes each, encoded in this 2-bytes sequence is 1, so both x and y store value 1 independently:

...[0][1]...[0][1]...
   ------   ------
     x         y

But when we write a similar expression for strings

let x = "Hi";
let y = "Hi";