All Concurrency Models Comparision [help]

I am fairly new to rust, I know that async-await has recently been stabilized and to maintain the zero-cost they are not using the standard event loop being used by NodeJs or others. If someone can clarify all the concurrent models and expand on when they might be useful, it will be so helpful.

Q: Java has thread-pools, I guess rust also has. Are they any differences?
Q: Go has CSP and coroutines, does rust have green threads or similar?
Q. What's the difference between async-await and something like rayon? In what situations are they prefered to one another.
Q: Actor model, Actix uses, is it better than async-await, is this only in some cases, or do they solve different problems.

Basically, I have general doubts over concurrency models, if there are readings on pros-cons, usages, of different concurrent models, I hope someone can share them. This seems like a general problem independent of language at a higher level and most software developers should know the basics.

1 Like

Rust does not have green threads and async await is a replacement.

A quote i hear often is that async is about waiting for a lot of things at once, while rayon is about doing a lot of things at once. The main idea is that in async, you expect to spend most of your time waiting for IO, and the executor is optimized for that using various methods to let things that are waiting sleep, while only running the tasks with stuff to do.

On the other hand rayon will just call the tasks and perform the computations directly. There's not mechanism for sleeping tasks, and it's all about being CPU bound.

The thread pool in Java is similar to stuff like the thread pool crate. I'm not familiar with the actor model in actix.

2 Likes