Aliased data structure, what to do about them?

I am a long time Java programmer, and I really did not need to avoid aliasing in that language (memory bugs not withstanding). Now that I am practicing Rust programming, of course I try to minimize aliasing. However, I am finding sometimes it is not possible to reduce the amount of aliasing to zero.

Right now I just have one example that most iterators will scan over your data structure that has a collection, and form an alias during the traversal. Do Rust programmers admit that you do not have access to your controlling data structure 100% of the time?

As a library writer I could say that my library will not support iterators (unattractive), but I think there are other times that there will be other sources of unavoidable aliasing, despite best effort to avoid them.

I might be inclined to cut features that requires control data structure access during iterator traversal; that is a valid trade-off there...

If you're used to the Java, you can think this alias feature as a way to make ConcurrentModificationException into compile error. Collections in Java do some extra works to detect/throw said exception. In Rust all such checks are done in compile time. No exceptions, no cost, no Saturday night oncalls for bugs that can never be reproduced during work hours.

Could you elaborate this more? I'm not sure what the question is.

1 Like
// mutable states here
pub struct ConverterState {
    my_buf: [u8; 2],
    my_invalid_sequence: bool,
}

impl ConverterState {

pub fn new() -> ConverterState {
        ConverterState {
            my_buf: [0u8; 2],
            my_invalid_sequence: false,
        }
    }

pub fn sum(& mut self) -> u32 {
        let res = (self.my_buf[0] as u32) + (self.my_buf[1] as u32);
        if res >= 256 {
            self.signal_invalid_sequence();
        }
        res
    }

pub fn signal_invalid_sequence(& mut self) {
        self.my_invalid_sequence = true;
    }