Advice for beginner, new crate

Hi, I'm relatively new to Rust and it has quickly become my favorite. I've recently published a crate and I'm looking for some advice A few weeks ago I was tinkering with some "backend" code and I decided to take part of it and make it into a crate. It's now on crates.io, it's called dir_walker. There are alternatives out there but I wanted to traverse the file system having a type that is compatible with the standard library. I'm looking for some feedback and comments on what could be improved. I's a small crate so it doesn't take long to read. I appreciate the help!

1 Like

Two comments:

• don't call the item type an EntryIterator. That sounds like it is the iterator type itself. It is not – it's the item that the iterator yields.
  • I don't understand why there is a separate Entry and Value. The Value type doesn't seem to be necessary. You could have just inlined its fields directly into Entry.

Thanks for the quick reply.

• Sounds good. I'll change the name in the next version.
  • I'm making Entry as a recursive structure without using "pointer types" and avoiding ownership problems. Of course there is nothing wrong with e.g. Box or other Cell types but I wanted to try a different route.

You must be severely misunderstanding something. Wrapping a struct inside another does not provide indirection. There's no difference between Entry containing a Value vs. Entry containing the fields of Value directly. If your code compiles currently, then it would also compile if you inlined the fields of Value into Entry. The required indirection is provided by the Vec. There's zero need to box anything.

(I don't know how Cell even comes into play. It's for interior mutability, which is a completely orthogonal issue.)

3 Likes

I have a long experience (in java, not Rust, mind that. In Rust I'm a N00b :slight_smile: ) with directory walkers. I have the following concerns about your code: