Address of associated constant

Hi,
I’m looking for a way to represent some custom type information using an associated constant. Basically what I’m trying to do is the following (bear in mind I'm new to Rust):

struct Info {
   name: &'static str
}

trait Thing {
   const INFO: Info;
}

struct ThingA {
}

impl Thing for ThingA {
   const INFO: Info = Info { name: "Info" };
}

fn func<T: Thing>() {
   println!("From func: {:?}", &T::INFO as *const Info);
}

fn main() {
   println!("From main: {:?}", &ThingA::INFO as *const Info);
   func::<ThingA>();
}

When I run this code on my Mac the address printed by main and func varies in debug and release. However, this is not the case with Playground where debug and release print the same address. Both my Mac and Playground uses rust 1.52.0 (I’ve double checked this with cargo -V).

1. Any idea why I’m seeing this behaviour?

2. I want to be able to identify types and I’m trying to mimic a solution possible in C++, taking an address of a const static member. I could probably switch to TypeId but I’m curious as to whether something like what’s shown in the example above is possible/appropriate in Rust, and if not what the proper solution in Rust could look like.

Many thanks,
Michael

1 Like

I guess the simplest answer for why is just: They can be different, so they sometimes are. See the Rust Reference which says

References to the same constant are not necessarily guaranteed to refer to the same memory address.

I don’t exactly know why the playground behaves different from local tests here; maybe it’s some form of platform dependence, or something else, who knows… In any case you should apparently never rely on those addresses being the same. You probably shouldn’t try to rely on different consts having different addresses either.

Using TypeId to identify types seems like a very good idea.

1 Like