Adding new target (uwp) to rustc

Hi!

I'm trying to add an architecture to rustc (namely, Windows UWP platform) and am having trouble with it.
Full disclosure, I'm extremely new to rust, its tools, so I might be missing something rather obvious.

I added my platform description in src/librustc_target/spec/, and am able to build everything (using ./x.py build up to the point where /build/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/stage2/bin/rustc --print target-list shows my target.
However, when I try to build a basic hello world target, here's the output:

chouquette@nibbler ./build/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/stage2/bin/rustc --target=i686-pc-uwp-gnu /tmp/test.rs                                                                                             ~/dev/rust
error[E0463]: can't find crate for `std`
  |
  = note: the `i686-pc-uwp-gnu` target may not be installed

error: aborting due to previous error

I tried to explicitely build std/libstd using ./x.py build src/libstd, which succeeds, but then running rustc outputs: error: couldn't load codegen backend "/home/chouquette/dev/rust/build/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/stage2/lib/rustlib/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/codegen-backends/librustc_codegen_llvm-llvm.so": "librustc_codegen_ssa-ae35f6596ec04cfb.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

This is fixed by re-running ./x.py build, but then it gets me the "can't find std crate" error.

To put it mildly, I feel very lost :slight_smile: Any help would be highly appreciated!

What I'm aiming at is to be able to build a small shared library for this specific target. Once I can just edit the target file to adjust linkage for that platform, I'll be happy :smiley:

Thanks a lot in advance!

I might be wrong, but I think if you are working on the compiler itself, the internals forum might be a better place to ask. :slightly_smiling_face: